Sensor-based tests document relief from workload and productivity gains at DB Schenker

During A+A 2021 in Düsseldorf, Gerald Müller, Vice President of Process and Efficiency Management at DB Schenker, and David Duwe (Head of Europe at Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons) presented the results of a sensor-based test series at DB Schenker. In collaboration with the startup MotionMinors, over 43,000 load sequences of everyday logistics movements were tested over 3 weeks with the help of 300 beacons. The tests were conducted in Augsburg during the unloading of containers and the following palletizing of goods.

Strong results measured when unloading containers

  1. Reduction of the total load during unloading in one week up to 23t ( appr. 1 truck) per person.
  2. In the same period, handling time was increased by 19% by using the Paexo Back when unloading containers
  3. A significant improvement in posture occurred when performing lifting activities in a critical position
In addition, the improvement in the work situation is also strongly noticeable for the test persons and offers “very good help when unloading containers”. High acceptance and good results in surveys of the participants is key factor for the successful introduction of exoskeletons in logistics.
Gerald Mueller, DB Schenker

Gerald Mueller on the results of the BIONIC ANALYTICS

BIONIC ANALYTICS: the perfect foundation for management decisions

For the analysis, a tailor-made methodology was developed in close cooperation with DB Schenker, Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons and MotionMiners. This is based on a qualitative survey by questioning the participants and the quantitative survey by Motion Mining® measurement. The entire BIONIC ANALYTICS process takes place over a period of several weeks and consists of four phases.

AI-based and tailor-made analysis method

  1. Kickoff with the entire team -> company, ergonomics experts and MotionMiners.
  2. Measurement with and without exoskeleton
  3. Analysis and preparation of the measurement results
  4. Evaluation of the BIONIC ANALYTICS within the company

Request BIONIC ANALYTICS

BIONIC ANALYTICS by Ottobock

If you have questions or you are interested in a BIONIC ANALYTICS for your workplaces, please feel free to contact us at any time via mail (paexo@ottobock.com) or by using our contact form (here).

Soenke Roessing, Head of Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons

Request BIONIC ANALYTICS

About DB Schenker

Schenker Deutschland AG, headquartered in Frankfurt am Main, is the leading provider of integrated logistics in the German market, with around 15,800 employees at more than 100 locations and annual sales of around 4.1 billion euros.

With around 74,100 employees at more than 2,100 locations in over 130 countries, Schenker AG is one of the world’s leading logistics service providers. The company offers land transport, air and sea freight as well as comprehensive logistics solutions and global supply chain management from a single source.

About Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons

Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons has been pioneering in the field of exoskeletons and producing the Paexo products since 2018. The mission is to provide technical solutions that enable people to perform their work in the long term, while protecting their health and making as few mistakes as possible. The product portfolio represents a wide range of exoskeletons for the entire body. From overhead work (Paexo Shoulder), to Paexo Back, the technical solution for load handling in the logistics industry, Paexo exoskeletons are shaping the future of work! There are also solutions for wrist, neck, lower back and thumb support.

About MotionMiners

Sensorbasierte Tests dokumentieren Entlastung und Produktivitätsgewinn bei DB Schenker

Im Zuge der A+A 2021 in Düsseldorf haben Gerald Müller, Leiter Industrial Engineering bei Schenker Deutschland AG und David Duwe (Head of Europe bei Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons) Ergebnisse einer sensorbasierten Testreihe bei DB Schenker vorgestellt. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Startup MotionMinors wurden über 3 Wochen mithilfe von 300 Beacons über 43.000 Belastungsabläufe von alltäglichen Logistikbewegungen getestet. Die Tests wurden in Augsburg beim Entladen von Containern und der anschließenden Palettierung der Waren durchgeführt.

Starke Ergebnisse beim Entladen von Containern messbar

  1. Reduzierung der Gesamtlast beim Entladen in einer Woche bis zu 23t (ca. 1 Lkw) pro Person
  2. Im selben Zeitraum konnte die Handhabungszeit durch den Einsatz des Paexo Back beim Entladen von Containern um 19% gesteigert werden
  3. Es kam zu einer deutlichen Verbesserung der Körperhaltung bei der Ausübung von Hebetätigkeiten in kritischer Haltung
Darüber hinaus ist die Verbesserung der Arbeitssituation auch für die Proband:innen stark spürbar und bietet eine “sehr gute Hilfe beim Containerentladen”. Eine hohe Akzeptanz und guten Ergebnisse bei Befragungen der Teilnehmenden ist ein zentrales Kriterium für die erfolgreiche Einführung von Exoskeletten in der Logistik.

Gerald Mueller zu den Ergebnissen der BIONIC ANALYSIS

BIONIC ANALYSIS: die perfekte Grundlage für Management Entscheidungen

Für die Analyse wurden in enger Abstimmung mit DB Schenker, Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons und MotionMiners eine maßgeschneiderte Analysemethode entwickelt. Diese basiert auf einer qualitativen Erhebung durch Befragung der Teilnehmer:innen und der quantitativen Erhebung durch die Motion-Mining®-Messung. Der gesamte Prozess der BIONIC ANALYSIS streckt sich über einen Zeitraum mehrerer Wochen und besteht aus vier Phasen.

KI-basierte und maßgeschneiderte Analysemethode

  1. Kickoff mit dem gesamten Team -> Unternehmen, Ergonomieexpert:innen und MotionMiners
  2. Durchführung der Messungen mit und ohne Exoskelett
  3. Analyse und Aufarbeitung der Messergebniss
  4. Auswertung der BIONIC ANALYSIS im Unternehmen

BIONIC ANALYSIS ANFRAGEN

Sollten Sie Fragen oder Interesse an einer BIONIC ANALYSIS in Ihrem Unternehmen haben, kontaktieren Sie uns gerne jederzeit via Mail (paexo@ottobock.com) oder über unser Kontaktformular (hier).

BIONIC ANALYSIS ANFRAGEN

Über DB Schenker

Die Schenker Deutschland AG, mit Sitz in Frankfurt am Main, ist mit rund 15.800 Mitarbeitenden an mehr als 100 Standorten und einem Umsatz von etwa 4,1 Milliarden Euro im Jahr führender Anbieter für integrierte Logistik im deutschen Markt.

Die Schenker AG gehört mit rund 74.100 Mitarbeitenden an über 2.100 Standorten in über 130 Ländern zu den führenden Logistikdienstleistern weltweit. Das Unternehmen bietet Landverkehr, Luft- und Seefracht sowie umfassende Logistiklösungen und globales Supply Chain Management auf einer Hand.

Über Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons

Ottobock Bionic Exoskeletons entwickelt und produziert seit 2018 die Paexo Exoskelette. Die Mission ist es, technische Lösungen anzubieten, die es Menschen ermöglicht, langfristig und gesundheitsschonend ihrer Arbeit nachzugehen und dabei möglichst wenige Fehler zu machen. Das Produktportfolio bildet eine breite Palette an Exoskeletten für den gesamten Körper ab. Von der Überkopfarbeit (Paexo Shoulder), bis hin zum Paexo Back, der technischen Lösung für Lastenhandhabung in der Logistikbranche gestalten Paexo Exoskelette die Zukunft der Arbeit! Darüber hinaus gibt es Lösungen zur Unterstützung für Handgelenk, Nacken, unteren Rücken und den Daumen.

Über MotionMiners